SEO BLOG

Search & Social Media Survival Guide

Update: The issue has been resolved already, seobook.com is reinstated.

seobookcom-banned-at-mixx.gif

While I enthusiastically joined Mixx and participated eagerly since then one thing strikes me as more than unusual: It seems that one of the most renown SEO authorities, Aaron Wall of SEO Book has his domain seobook.com banned at Mixx! I wanted to submit his hugely popular SEO Guide for bloggers which has been bookmarked at del.icio.us 1156 times as of now and it’s “not valid“.

When I join a community and spend some substantial amount of time on supporting it, filling it with content and basically working for free for it I do not like to encounter such strange surprises.

I assume it’s the Beta that strikes here again, as there are apparently some other issues right now, e.g. I can’t vote in FireFox 1.5 and Mixx does not work in Opera 9. It certainly does not make sense to ban one of the best SEO sites whatsoever.

This is exactly where Digg has failed among others, in differentiating between worthless SEO spam and valuable SEO content that empowers bloggers and webmasters to succeed online.

I hope Mixx won’t follow the same path of failure.

The screenshot above shows the submit dialog of Mixx. If you attempt to submit a page from seobook.com you get a

Sorry, the URL you are attempting to submit is not valid on our system.

To double check I used the homepage URL and it did not work either. As the URL does not seem in any ways atypical to me or broken, StumbleUpon for instance can’t handle some URLs, like not optimized Joomla ones e.g. it must be a mistake. It sure is interesting how this glitch happened. Did someone file an abuse report and seobook.com was automatically banned?

Disclosure: I’m a SEO Book affiliate and have complained in the past about the poor sales of it on my site.

Related posts:

  1. CNN Adds Mixx Buttons, 5 of Them!
  2. Stop Social Media Hopping Now to Save Your Business Later
  3. Mixx: SEO 2.0 Group Reaches 50 Members and 7 Other Reasons to Join
  4. SEO 2.0 Changes in 2009
  5. Are You SEO 2.0 Enough to Join Our Mixx Group?

December 3, 2007 | You can follow comments through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a comment, or trackback.

Need help? Consider a world class blog & SEO consultation by the author of SEO 2.0, Tad Chef. For full fledged SEO services like ongoing link building, contact my partners from SEO.com or look up my directory of SEO service providers and checkout reputable companies like Datadial or Redfly.

Already an SEO? Consider applying to be added to my exclusive SEO agency directory. Only selected companies get included. Find out whether you are eligible to submit your site.

This thing has 14 Comments

  1. Posted December 3, 2007 at 12:17 | Permalink

    Could it be Mixx don’t want any commercial related entries?

  2. Posted December 3, 2007 at 12:30 | Permalink

    I actually emailed them about the very same issue a week or so ago and they said:

    “Based on the error message that is coming back, it seems that our content filters (a 3rd party solution we use) is catching it. Let me check with our engineers and see what category the content filters have put on the site.”

    I assume they never resolved it..

  3. vaggos
    Posted December 3, 2007 at 20:53 | Permalink

    They told me the same about one of my websites, but they never answered back and my website is blocked from mixx

  4. Posted December 4, 2007 at 03:20 | Permalink

    It was a bug and they have corrected the situation!

    Mixx is not evil or bias! :)

  5. Posted December 4, 2007 at 13:57 | Permalink

    Great. I updated the post.

  6. Posted December 4, 2007 at 20:18 | Permalink

    @Mark Fulton
    LOL Social Media is all about evil and bias :)

  7. Posted April 24, 2008 at 08:46 | Permalink

    The bug was corrected!

  8. Blogging for Bucks
    Posted April 9, 2009 at 19:10 | Permalink

    I am having the same problem everyone claims is fixed. When I emailed them 2 weeks ago I got no reply. Then magically it was fixed 10 hours ago. I was able to submit one of my pages. But as soon as I was able to submit, the problem has started up again. My site can not be listed. And if their filters are calling my blog spam, I’d love to know what they are basing this on. Are they just looking for specific keywords or what? This has actually hurt my website a great deal and I have already had 8 people tell me about the problem from my website :O(

  9. Posted June 4, 2009 at 14:32 | Permalink

    I keep getting the message “We’re not sure where you found this, but it doesn’t appear to be a web page. Want to give it another try?
    Strange as it used to accept my site and Technorati, Delicious, Stumbleupon, etc all accept it! I contacted them about two weeks ago about this but so far no reply, hopefully they will sort it soon.

  10. Bob
    Posted November 12, 2009 at 03:08 | Permalink

    I’m getting the same problem :(

    “Sorry, the URL you are attempting to submit is not valid on our system. “

  11. Posted January 30, 2010 at 07:29 | Permalink

    Well that’s just really odd. I’m surprised they would ban such an authority site. I’ll have to go give it a try and see if it works now days.

  12. Kevin
    Posted February 11, 2010 at 06:17 | Permalink

    I recently joined Mixx and have posted some interesting news related to technology, futurists, sports. Today, every submission I try to make from established news sites like Reuters, AP, LiveScience, etc, I get this:
    “We’re not sure where you found this, but it doesn’t appear to be a web page. Want to give it another try?”

    I don’t know if this is a bug or if somehow my account was mistakenly ID’d as a spammer (I have not submitted anything commercial, but these social media sites seem fickle and arbitrary when some moderator doesn’t like your username or is in a bad mood).

  13. Posted February 11, 2010 at 12:21 | Permalink

    Kevin: No, that’s a bug I’ve seen over the years. Mixx can’t deal with some URLs especially if they have too many parameters.

  14. Posted January 21, 2011 at 04:11 | Permalink

    urrgh, having the same problem with a non SEO related site.
    It gets through the original URL parsing screen, but then after filling in info for the site I tried, it then gives the error, and then when I try to submit again, it appears blocked on the first submission page and will go no further. At least if they provided a more informative error, it would be less frustrating.

One Trackback

  1. Bountiful Buffet of Bookmarks :: JMorris Online
    Posted December 12, 2007 at 07:47 | Permalink

    [...] SEO 2.0 | Seobook.com Banned at Mixx? [...]

Post a Comment

Please mind the commenting netiquette, most notably:

  • A "name" is a real name or nick name, not a keyword! SEO Company is wrong. John Doe of Google is OK.
  • For the "website" URL: No deep links allowed unless it's your "about" page.
  • No extra signature allowed, one "website" link is enough.
  • No bot-like "Thank you" comments with no context or added value to the post.

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *

*
*